Mention at NewPages.com

20Jul09

Monkeybicycle 6 is running away with solid reviews. This time, there’s one at NewPages.com inside their lineup of litmag reviews. I’m absolutely thrilled my story got mentioned. Greg Gerke says: “The issue hums along between realism and the surreal and the effect is that of a well-balanced meal.” And he describes my excerpt as a “memoir of the sometimes weighty, sometimes weightless days after college in the suburbs of Boston.”

I hadn’t thought of that balance in the issue before, but it’s a great observation. There are a lot of surreal stories, but also a few that are super-real. I just re-read Ryan Boudinot’s “The Miner” over the weekend, and that felt super-real to me up until the surreal part. I’m not going to give it away. But you could say the issue’s balance is even found in that one story.

No Responses Yet to “Mention at NewPages.com”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

