I’d Never Heard of David Vann…

11Feb11

…but this interview on The Paris Review’s blog makes me want to read Caribou Island. I loved the last question and his response (I find it fascinating that there’s a physical place where his dream life resides. I think all of us have this, whether we realize or not.):

Is there a physical place that’s a touchstone for you?

Yes, in New Zealand. My wife and I bought some land there seven years ago. Someday soon we’ll finally be able to build a small house on it and live there. I think of it every single day and long for it and want to be there, so it’s taken on a really powerful presence in my psychology. It represents the life that I want, a place to ease into and relax, my desire for peace and belonging, to go for a hike every day. It’s seventeen acres on a rolling hillside, with native totara trees, which look like bushy Christmas trees, and grass in between. You can walk quite across the property and up onto a ridge, and look out on these exposed rocks. That’s really where my dream life is, right there in that place.

No Responses Yet to “I’d Never Heard of David Vann…”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

