First Impressions of New SM & Jicks

15Aug11

I just listened to KCRW’s free stream of the new Stephen Malkmus & the Jicks album, Mirror Traffic. It’s produced by Beck, and I have to say, I love it. It’s got some sounds I haven’t heard on any of the previous Jicks albums. Some fine acoustic guitar work, along with the slide, and some echo. Yes, more echo. I think it’s safe to say, though, that none of the previous Jicks albums really repeated themselves, and the trend continues here. Some reviews have said this one’s a move away from the guitar-solo-heavy stuff of previous albums, but that’s BS. There are still solos. And they’re cool. Just different, I’d say, not really as proggy as say, on Pig Lib, or a tune like “Elmo Delmo” from the last record. More pedals are in use here, maybe.

I have the Beck-produced Charlotte Gainsbourg album, IRM, and I can’t say there’s like, a “Beck production style.” I think he’s a collaborator who tends to help bring out whatever’s best about the individual artist. That’s my take from listening to this new Jicks record.

 

No Responses Yet to “First Impressions of New SM & Jicks”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

