Writers Can’t Retire, Can They?

14Feb13

Nice piece by Bill Morris at The Millions about writers who’ve declared their retirements, stopped writing, then sort of kept writing, or really kept writing. I often think about not writing. Usually I tend to take weekends off, but even then, I sneak in a few words. Or I’m thinking about characters, so I’m writing mentally, I guess. I’ve been forced not to write by circumstance a few times, and I think it’s almost like withdrawal from a drug. A numbness takes over, and everything feels dead to me. When I come back to it, the lights seem to go back on, if that makes sense.

I would add Henry Miller to Morris’ list. He supposedly retired as age crept in to focus on painting.

No Responses Yet to “Writers Can’t Retire, Can They?”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

