The Deep Blue Sea

01Mar13

Image

I watched this movie months ago, and for some reason, it’s hitting me this week. I don’t even remember it that well, other than to say it was about the breakup of a marriage, an affair, and suicide attempts. The one scene that sticks out for me is when Rachel Weisz is in the back of the car with her estranged husband. It’s night, and he gives her a book of sonnets she always loved. But it was more than that. There was a finality about their marriage, and when she says thank you, it’s as if she’s saying, “Thank you for taking care of me all those years.” This movie is DOWN, like way down. But it was so compelling. And that scene seemed to sum it up for me. I just keep thinking back to it.

No Responses Yet to “The Deep Blue Sea”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

